Answer – Countries associated with 'Horizon 2020' – E-003647/2016

Armenia is the next country, after Georgia, to be associated to Horizon 2020(1). The Horizon 2020 Association Agreement with Armenia was signed on 19 May 2016 and will only enter into force once Armenia notifies the Commission that its internal procedures for that purpose have been completed. As from that date, Armenia will become an Associated Country to Horizon 2020.

Currently, the EU is not engaged in any negotiation for the association of further countries to Horizon 2020.

The conditions for starting negotiations with third countries in view of an association to Horizon 2020 are set out in Regulation (EU) No 1291/2013 establishing Horizon 2020(2) (in particular in its Article 7). Accordingly, the EU may engage in negotiations with:

Acceding countries, candidate countries and potential candidates, in accordance with the general principles and general terms and conditions for the participation of those countries in EU programmes established in the respective framework agreements and decisions of association councils or similar agreements.
European Free Trade Association (EFTA)(3) members, or countries or territories covered by the European Neighbourhood Policy(4) that fulfil all of the following criteria: a good capacity in science, technology and innovation; a good track record of participation in Union research and innovation programmes and fair and equitable dealing with intellectual property rights.
Countries or territories associated to the Seventh Framework Programme(5).

(1) The EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (2014-2020).
(2) OJ L 347, 20.12.2013.
(5) The Seventh Framework Programme for Research, Technological Development and Demonstration Activities(FP7, 2007-2013).

Leave a Reply